Users yet to accept new terms and conditions for the messaging platform WhatsApp will start to get “persistent” reminders after the 15 May deadline.

READ ALSO: VIDEO: Captain Smart Boldly Reveals His Political Party

The changes relate primarily to the way businesses interact with customers.

{…CLICK TO DOWNLOAD…SIRKENN MEDIA APP…}

Since they were announced, in January, there had been concerns about the prospect of increased data sharing with WhatsApp’s parent company, Facebook, but this will not be changing.

Advertisements

Most of the app’s two billion users have already accepted, the company said.

READ ALSO: OFFICIAL VIDEO: Kweku Darlington – ‘Sika Aba Fie’ Remix Ft. Kuami Eugene, Kweku Flick, Fameye & Yaw TOG

Those who do not will start to lose functionality-beginning with being unable to see chat lists and ending with not receiving video calls and messages – but no accounts will be deleted.

Following the January announcement, users threatened to boycott the app and rival platforms such as Telegram and Signal saw record download.

But WhatsApp said it had been a victim of “misinformation”.

WhatsApp messages are end-to-end encrypted, so they can be read on the devices of the sender and recipient only.

READ ALSO: Gospel Musician Claudia K. Amoako Releases New Single “Enko Wo Ko”

WhatsApp said the data it shared with other Facebook companies included:

  • Phone number and other information provided on registration (such as name)
  • Information about users’ phone, including make, model, and mobile company
  • IP address, which indicates the location of users’ internet connection
  • Any payments and financial transactions made over WhatsApp

READ ALSO:Aki and Pawpaw Announce New TV Series

But this does not apply in Europe and the United Kingdom, where different privacy laws exist.

By SIR KENN

SIR KENN is an on-air personality and a blogger.

LIVE OFFLINE
track image
Loading...
1254 Shares
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap
%d bloggers like this: